Abstract Structure
Line separator

DISMANTLING RACISM TRAININGS

Dismantling Racism training seeks to increase "racial understanding, healing and reconciliation." It is offered several times throughout the year and is required for all parish clergy and all lay leaders, including vestry members.  Trainings are offered by the Absalom Jones Episcopal Center for Racial Healing.

The training was adjusted in 2012 to "reflect the fruit of several conversations conducted by the Beloved Community: Commission for Dismantling Racism (now the Absalom Jones Center for Racial Healing)," said Dr. Catherine Meeks, executive director of the Center "We re-framed the training in a way that makes the experience a part of the ongoing spiritual formation of the participants."

Training for members of the Diocese of Atlanta runs for a single day from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  EST. Although there is no fee to take the training, pre-registration is required no later than one week in advance of the class date. Each class is limited to 25 people. No more than six people from the same parish can take the class on the same day. 


Currently, the Dismantling Racism Training will be held online via Zoom from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. EST.  To participate in the online training, you must have access to video and audio capabilities on your computer or mobile device. If two people in the same home/building are taking the class on the same date, they MUST be on two separate devices in different rooms. The registration process remains the same. Class size will remain limited to 25 people. Online training is temporary.  In-person classes will resume when permitted. All in-person classes are held only throughout the Diocese of Atlanta.

For more information on Dismantling Racism Training, contact us at centerforracialhealing@episcopalatlanta.org

 

TO REGISTER, SELECT AN AVAILABLE DATE BELOW AND SCROLL DOWN TO COMPLETE THE REGISTRATION FORM.  

2022 Dismantling Racism Training Class Schedule 

  • Tuesday, January 25, 2022

  • Saturday, January 29, 2022

  • Thursday, February 17, 2022

  • Saturday, February 26, 2022

  • Thursday, March 10, 2022

  • Saturday, March 26, 2022

  • Thursday, April 7, 2022

  • Saturday, April 30. 2022

  • Saturday, May 14, 2022

  • Tuesday, May 17, 2022

  • Thursday, June 23, 2022

  • Saturday, June 25, 2022

  • Saturday, July 16, 2022

  • Saturday, July 30, 2022

  • Thursday, August 11, 2022

  • Saturday, August 27, 2022

  • Tuesday, September 20. 2022

  • Thursday, September 29, 2022

  • Tuesday, October 4, 2022

  • Saturday, October 22, 2022

  • Thursday, November 3, 2022

  • Saturday, November 5, 2022

  • Thursday, December 1, 2022

  • Saturday, December 3, 2022

.JPG

TO REGISTER

Please note: No more than eight members from the same parish

can attend the same Dismantling Racism Training class.